The Human Rights Protection Party

What is Good for Apia is also good for Savaii!
"O le mea e lelei i Apia, e lelei foi mo Savaii"

Tui Atua reappointed Head of State

REAPPOINTED: His Highness Tuiatua Tupua Tamasese Efi

Tui Atua Tupua Tamasese Efi was reappointed unopposed by Parliament this morning for another five-year-term as Head of State.

The formal nomination of Tui Atua, 74, in the House was made by Prime Minister Tuilaepa Sailele Malielegaoi and seconded by Opposition leader Palusalue Faapo II.

Congratulating Tui Atua, the Prime Minister said whatever shortcomings the Head of State had in his previous term, there is much to learn from.

“The fact that the reappointment this morning is unanimous is testament to the dignity and respect this Parliament – and this country – has for the Office of the Head of State.”

A former Prime Minister, Tui Atua was appointed Head of State in June 2007 after the passing of Malietoa Tanumafili II.

Tui Atua will be sworn in next Wednesday at Parliament House.

Head of State sworn in

SWORN IN: His Highness Tui Atua Tupua Tamasese Efi at Parliament this morning

Tui Atua Tupua Tamasese Efi was sworn in to office for a second five-year term as Head of State this morning.

Presided over by Chief Justice Patu Tiava’asue Falefatu Sapolu, His Highness – accompanied by his wife Filifilia Tamasese – took the oath of office before Parliament and a full gallery of family, friends, representatives of the Diplomatic Corp, representatives of the clergy, private sector and government officials.

In his official address that followed, His Highness thanked Parliament – particularly Prime Minister Tuilaepa Sailele Malielegaoi – for its confidence in him.

“Through taofisa the wisdom of our forebears is brought to bear, ensuring decision-making processes that are above reproach and enable unity.

“Evidence of this is clear by the nomination and acceptance process adopted by Parliament in the House: the Prime Minister put forward the nomination and the Leader of the Opposition seconded it; the Prime Minister spoke and then the Leader of the Opposition responded; a motion was put forward for acceptance of the nomination and then carried unanimously.

“My soul is lifted by this show of unity.

“I do not take the role of Head of State lightly and the responsibility weighs heavily.  But when high Parliamentary and public confidence, esteem, dignity and respect are bestowed by such beautiful gestures and words, I am moved to say that they must be equally matched and reciprocated with the same standards of honor, respect, ethics and due diligence on my part.

“While grateful for the reappointment, I am at this moment especially conscious of my weaknesses and failings.  I depend on God and your prayers to fulfill this role well.”

Speaker of the House, Laaulialemalietoa Leuatea Polataivao thanked the Head of State on Behalf of government and Parliament for accepting a second term in office.

Executive Appointments

Tuiatua was first appointed and sworn in as Head of State 16 June 2007. He was the first Head of State to have been appointed for a three year term in accordance with the Constitiuion following the passing on 11 May 2007 of Malietoa Tanumafili 11  - the remaining Head of State for life since independence in 1962.

The Head of State is appointed by Parliament on the advise of the Prime Minister.

As a former Prime Minister and a long time leader of the parliamentary Opposition, Tuiatua was a fierce critic of the HRPP and its successive governments since 1982.

But HRPP left politics aside and appointed Tuiatua on merits given the availability of candidates for the post of Head of State.

As a Tama Aiga, Tuiatua was offered a seat in the Council of Deputies when Malietoa was in office, but were turned down.


The HRPP government under Prime Minister Tofilau appointed Matai'a Visesio to the Council when Mata'afa Fa'asuamale'aui Pu'ela passed away. This was followed by the appointment of Faumuina Anapapa and later the former Prime Minister, Vaai Kolone as the first non Tama Aiga title holder to the Council.

The current member of the Council is Tuimalealiifano Va'aletoa Sualauvi II who was reappointed after he ran unsuccessfuly for parliament in 2001.







HRPP © 2011 - 2016. All rights reserved.